• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Texas Law Regarding Swords And Knives

#1 User is offline   Jeremy 

• Dark Lord of the Smith
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Interests:Budo (Isshin-ryu, aikido, bojutsu, kenjutsu and iaijutsu)

Posted 26 November 2003 - 07:27 PM

It is unfortunate that there is a large amount of confusion, even among police officers, as to what, exactly, the laws in Texas say about swords and knives. As far as Texas laws are concerned I can quite easily give expert advice as to the laws regarding possession and carrying of weapons -- I'm a DPS firearms instructor and also a TCLEOSE police academy instructor (yup, I teach cops). I apologize to those of you who are not in Texas as I cannot give any expert opinions as to the laws of your state or country. If you're not in Texas and you're really curious, write a letter to your local District Attorney or County Prosecutor requesting an interpretation of your state's laws.

For those who want to read the specific statutes and cases themselves, all of the information I'm discussion can be found in the Texas Penal Code, Chapter 46, sections 46.01, 46.02, 46.05 and 46.15 as well as Texas Supreme Court rulings Bivens v. State (113 S.W. 2d 921), Armendariz v. State (396 S.W. 2d 132) and Torres v. State (309 S.W. 2d 244).

In Texas anything that can cause serious injury or death by cutting or stabbing is considered a knife. This includes everything we would normally consider a knife as well as daggers, stilettos, swords, razor blades, sharp pieces of scrap metal, torn beer cans, broken glass and, well, a lot of other things if we start to use our imagination.